Logo der Sales Profit Chain

The new book by Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke (Volume 1)

THE SALES PROFIT CHAIN

Understanding Causal Chains – Optimizing Sales – Increasing Profitability

Contents of the book

The Sales Profit Chain (SPC) has been developed for sales decision-makers. To accomplish this, we worked with more than 4,000 companies. The SPC approach uses 12 questions to analyze the most important causal chains of sales and therefore to access the most effective growth and efficiency levers.

Endorsements

Look inside the book

What's new about the SPC approach?

End-to-end approach

The Sales Profit Chain uses a coherent overall sales logic (end-to-end approach).

Causal Chains

Instead of isolated, individual aspects of sales, the causal chains of sales management are made visible.

Typical obstacles

The obstacles to implementing measures at the operational level are also explicitly overcome.

The black box of sales

A great many efforts to achieve sales excellence come to naught because management buttons are pushed without their (side) effects on the salesforce and customers being known. Often there is a black box in the middle of the Sales Profit Chain.

The TUNE  method

The TUNE method enables a sales ultrasound based on 12 questions for analyzing the most important causal chains.

  • T stands for the T management measures (TUNE questions nos. 9-12)
  • U stands for the U chain analysis (TUNE questions nos. 2–4). It looks for potentials in the customer and sales structuring.
  • N stands for the N chain analysis (TUNE questions nos. 5–8). It looks for critical obstacles to implementation.
  • E stands for the choice of effect focus (TUNE question no. 1).

In the Sales Profit Chain approach, analysis is undertaken from right to left and starts with the definition of the effect targets. The Uand Nchain analyses then follow. Finally, T management measures are derived.

Use the available scoresheets to apply the TUNE method in practice for your sales organization.

The book contains a scoresheet for the practical application of each of the 12 TUNE questions. The scoresheets can be used to assess your sales department step-by-step along the entire Sales Profit Chain. The scoresheets also help you to identify the critical challenges for your sales organization and to visualize them using a traffic light system.

Der Autor Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke
© Daniel Sadrowski

The author

Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke

Jan Wieseke is one of the world’s top four sales researchers.*

He is a tenured professor at the Sales Management Department at the
Ruhr University of Bochum and and works as a visiting professor at ESMT Berlin and Loughborough University (UK). He has been presented with the national “Professor of the Year” award for the practical relevance of his teaching. He is a member of the scientific advisory board of Prof. Schmitz & Wieseke – Sales Management Consulting, a management consultancy focused on sales.

* Over the last decade, he has ranked in the top 20 of all Marketing professors in the “Author Productivity” rankings of the American Marketing Association (AMA) for his research contributions to premier journals. For the topic of Sales, he has consistently ranked among the top four.

Volume 2: SALESTEGY

Will be published January 2023

SALESTEGY has been developed for sales and strategic management decision-makers. The approach combines the worlds of sales and strategic management, which are often analyzed separately from one another.

SALESTEGY means that SALES & STRATEGY are combined to find promising business models and implement them, ideally in terms of sales.

In this book, the practical implementation of innovative business models is shown based on detailed examples of real companies. Managers are provided with step-by-step instructions on how to assess their business models and successfully structure their sales management.

Cover vom Buch SALESTEGY von Jan Wieseke

Why Bochum?

“You’re not Harvard!” – So why the „Bochum" Sales Profit Chain approach?

You may have asked yourself why on earth I call the essential concept in this book the “Bochum” Sales Profit Chain approach. In the run-up to publishing the book, I was actually urged several times not to mention “Bochum” so explicitly. Even one of my best friends advised me: “Don’t call it Bochum!”

After all, Bochum does not exactly have an outstanding reputation in the world of science. The situation would be different with a Harvard SPC approach. The intention is also to use the Sales Profit Chain approach everywhere, not just in Bochum. 

I heeded most of the pieces of advice given by my friends while writing this book, but not this one. By mentioning Bochum, I would like to express my ties to our city and to the Ruhr University of Bochum because our team is proud to have established Europe’s one and only Sales Management Department in Bochum.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner

Logo der Sales Profit Chain

Das neue Buch von Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke (Band 1)

DIE SALES PROFIT CHAIN

Wirkungsketten verstehen – Vertrieb optimieren – Profitabilität steigern

Inhalt des Buches

Die Sales Profit Chain (SPC) wurde für Entscheider:innen im Vertrieb entwickelt. Über 4.000 Unternehmen haben zu einem einzigartigen und praktischen Ansatz beigetragen. Mit Hilfe von 12 Fragen analysiert der SPC-Ansatz die wichtigsten Wirkungsketten des Vertriebs und erschließt damit Wachstumshebel.

Referenzen

Blick ins Buch

Was ist neu am SPC-Ansatz?

Ende-zu-Ende-Ansatz

Die Sales Profit Chain arbeitet mit einer zusammenhängenden Gesamtlogik des Vertriebs.

Wirkungsketten

Anstatt isolierter Einzelbausteine des Vertriebs werden die Wirkungsketten des Vertriebsmanagements sichtbar gemacht.

Typische Hürden

Typische Hürden der vertrieblichen Umsetzung werden als elementarer Teil der Sales Profit Chain von Beginn an einbezogen.

Die Blackbox des Vertriebs

Viele Sales Excellence-Bemühungen verpu­ffen, weil auf Management-Knöpfe gedrückt wird, ohne dass deren (Neben-)Wirkungen auf die Salesforce und die Kunden bekannt sind. Häufig existiert also eine Blackbox in der Mitte der Sales Profit Chain.

Die TUNE-Methode

Die TUNE-Methode ermöglicht einen Vertriebs-Ultraschall anhand von 12 Fragen zur Analyse der wichtigsten Wirkungsketten.

  • T steht für T-Management-Maßnahmen (TUNE-Fragen Nr. 9-12).
  • U steht für U-Ketten-Analyse (TUNE-Fragen Nr. 2-4). Sie sucht nach Potenzialen in der Kunden- und Vertriebsstrukturierung.
  • N steht für N-Ketten-Analyse (TUNE-Fragen Nr. 5-8). Sie sucht nach kritischen Umsetzungshürden.
  • E steht für die Wahl des Ergebnisfokus (TUNE-Fragen Nr. 1).

Im Sales Profit Chain-Ansatz erfolgt die Analyse von rechts nach links und startet mit der Definition der Ergebnisziele. Es folgen die Uund NKetten-Analysen. Zum Schluss werden T-Management-Maßnahmen abgeleitet.

Nutzen Sie die verfügbaren Scoresheets zur praktischen Anwendung der TUNE-Methode für Ihre Vertriebsorganisation.

Für jede der 12 TUNE-Fragen steht in Kapitel 5 ein Scoresheet zur praktischen Anwendung zur Verfügung. Mit Hilfe der Scoresheets können Sie die Bewertung Ihres Vertriebs entlang der gesamten Sales Profit Chain Schritt für Schritt vornehmen. Zudem helfen Ihnen die Scoresheets, die kritischen Herausforderungen für Ihre Vertriebsorganisation zu identifizieren und mit einem Ampelsystem zu visualisieren.

Der Autor Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke
© Daniel Sadrowski

Der Autor

Prof. Dr. Jan Wieseke

Jan Wieseke zählt zu den Top-4-Vertriebsforschern weltweit.*

Er ist Lehrstuhlinhaber am Sales Management Department der Ruhr-
Universität Bochum und als Gastprofessor an der ESMT Berlin sowie der Loughborough University (UK) tätig. Für die Praxisnähe seiner Lehre erhielt er die bundesweite Auszeichnung als „Professor des Jahres“. Er ist wissenschaftlicher Beirat von Prof. Schmitz & Wieseke – Sales Management Consulting, einer vertriebsfokussierten Managementberatung.

* Author Productivity Ranking der American Marketing Association zur Forschungsleistung der letzten Dekade

Band 2: SALESTEGY

Erscheint im Januar 2023

SALESTEGY wurde für Entscheider:innen im Vertrieb und im strategischen Management entwickelt. Der Ansatz verbindet die bislang häufig voneinander getrennten Welten des Vertriebs und des strategischen Managements.

SALESTEGY bedeutet, dass SALES & STRATEGY verbunden werden, um erfolgsträchtige Geschäftsmodelle zu finden und sie vertrieblich effektiv umzusetzen.

In dem Buch wird die praktische Umsetzung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle anhand detaillierter Unternehmensbeispiele abgebildet. Manager:innen erhalten eine Schritt für Schritt-Anleitung, wie sie ihre Geschäftsmodelle bewerten und ihr Vertriebsmanagement erfolgreich ausrichten können.

Cover vom Buch SALESTEGY von Jan Wieseke

Warum Bochum?

„Ihr seid doch nicht Harvard!“ – Warum eigentlich der „Bochumer“ Sales Profit Chain-Ansatz?

Oft werde ich gefragt, warum ich das wesentliche Konzept dieses Buches eigentlich den „Bochumer“ Sales Profit Chain-Ansatz nenne. Mir wurde im Vorfeld der Veröffentlichung dieses Buches sogar mehrfach davon abgeraten, Bochum so explizit zu nennen. Selbst einer meiner besten Freunde riet mir: „Don’t call it Bochum!“

Schließlich verfüge Bochum in der Wissenschaft nicht gerade über ein herausragendes Standing. Bei einem Harvard SPC-Ansatz wäre dies etwas anderes. Außerdem solle der Sales Profit Chain-Ansatz ja nicht nur in Bochum eingesetzt werden, sondern überall. 

Ich habe die meisten Ratschläge meiner Freunde beim Schreiben dieses Buches beherzigt, diesen jedoch nicht. Indem ich Bochum erwähne, möchte ich meinen Bezug zu unserer Stadt und der Ruhr-Universität Bochum zum Ausdruck bringen. Denn wir sind mit unserem Team stolz darauf, in Bochum das einzige Sales Management Department in Europa aufgebaut zu haben.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner